Elisabeth Leonskaja © Marco Borggreve
Charity concert • The spirit of modernity from Beethoven’s hands
Elisabeth Leonskaja
Arnold Schönberg Center
Monday, 20 March 2023
6.30 pm
Elisabeth Leonskaja © Marco Borggreve

The spirit of modernity from Beethoven’s hands

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

Alban BERG Sonate für Klavier op. 1
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Suite für Klavier op. 25
Anton WEBERN Variationen für Klavier op. 27
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN Sonate Nr. 32 c-Moll op. 111

Donation | Online reservation

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Arnold Schönberg Center, Elisabeth Leonskaja presents a piano recital with works of the Viennese School. Anton Webern appears to look ahead to the future with his Variations, op. 27, while Alban Berg’s Sonate, op. 1 is his masterpiece under Arnold Schönberg’s instruction. In the 1920s, the latter referred back to Johann Sebastian Bach and produced his first valid twelvetone work, the Suite, op. 25. Calling to mind the roots of modernism in Viennese Classicism, the program concludes with Ludwig van Beethoven’s final piano sonata.

5.30 pm: Curator’s tour with Eike Feß
through the exhibition “Composition with Twelve Tones. Schönberg’s Reorganization of Music” (fully booked)

Donations go to a charitable project.

By clicking the button below, you accept our terms and conditions.